Skip to main content
Main content

President Reed Elected to Prestigious Panel

May 20, 2008 

Bethune-Cookman University President Dr. Trudie Kibbe Reed was elected to the United Methodist Church (UMC) University Senate by the 2008 UMC General Conference, which recently met in Fort Worth, Texas. Dr. Reed’s name was submitted by the Southeastern District Council of Bishops, and her election to a four-year term was the result of a vote by the General Conference, the highest legislative body of the UMC.

The University Senate is an elected body of professionals in higher education created to determine which schools, colleges, universities, and theological schools meet the criteria to be institutions affiliated with the United Methodist Church. The senate is made up of twenty-five voting members who are involved in education and have distinguished themselves as scholars and administrators.

“We are delighted that President Reed has been recognized in this manner,” said Dr. Irving Matthews, chairman of the Bethune-Cookman University (B-CU) Board of Trustees.

Dr. Reed is a veteran educator with over 30 years of experience in the field. Before coming to B-CU, she served as president of Philander Smith College in Little Rock, Arkansas. She also was dean of the Leadership Institute and a tenured professor at Columbia College of South Carolina. Her election to the University Senate marks Dr. Reed’s return to the UMC where she once served as the General Secretariat (comparable to CEO) of The General Commission on the Status and Role of Women in the United Methodist Church. Dr. Reed’s leadership as president of Bethune-Cookman University for the last four years has resulted in numerous accomplishments including achieving University status and more than doubling the institution’s endowment.

This is a prestigious honor for both Dr. Reed and Bethune-Cookman University. For more information on the UMC University Senate, please visit the General Board of Higher Education and Ministries website at and search University Senate.

Office of Institutional Advancement

Liz Poston
PH: 386-481-2950

About Bethune Cookman University:

Founded in 1904 by Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune, Bethune-Cookman University (B-CU) today sustains her legacy of faith, scholarship and service through its relationship with the United Methodist Church and its commitment to academic excellence and civic engagement.  B-CU offers 38 degrees on its main campus and online college. Located in Daytona Beach, B-CU is one of three private, historically black colleges in the state of Florida. The institution boasts a diverse and international faculty and student body of nearly 4,000.  For more information, visit

To Top