Postsecondary Education Readiness Test (P.E.R.T.)

The P.E.R.T. is the Florida Department of Education's customized common placement test. The purpose of the P.E.R.T. is to determine accurate course placement based on the student's skills and abilities. The P.E.R.T. assessment system includes placement and diagnostic tests in mathematics, reading and writing. This is a computer-adaptive college placement test.  Students placed in developmental courses have the opportunity to take the P.E.R.T. to determine if the students are able to enroll in college level English and/or mathematics and forego the developmental course(s).

ETS® SuccessNavigator

Based on extensive research, this 30-minute, nonproctored online assessment helps colleges reach at-risk students and improve first-year retention rates by giving them a holistic view of the critical factors that most greatly influence incoming student success:

  • Academic Skills — behaviors, beliefs, and skills that directly facilitate academic success
  • Commitment — commitment to, drive toward and perceived importance of academic success
  • Self-Management — ability to anticipate and respond to pressure and stress related to college life
  • Social Support — availability of resources to support academic success
  • Test takers also provide demographic and life-event information that you may not already capture.


Research literature shows that maintaining high retention rates in educational programs is a significant challenge. SmarterMeasure serves as an early warning device to identify students who may be deficient in the skills and attributes necessary for successful distance and technology-rich learning and who may, therefore, be at risk of dropping out of these programs.  The SmarterMeasure Learning Readiness Indicator specifies the degree to which an individual student possesses the attributes, skills, and knowledge that contribute to success.  SmarterMeasure includes seven major assessment components which measure:

  • Individual Attributes - motivation, procrastination, willingness to ask for help, etc.
  • Life Factors - Availability of time, support from family and employers, finances, etc.
  • Learning styles - Based on the multiple intelligences model
  • Technical Competency - Skills using technology
  • Technical Knowledge - Knowledge of technology terms
  • On-screen Reading Rate and Recall
  • Typing Speed and Accuracy

ETS® Proficiency Profile 

Assesses four core skill areas — critical thinking, reading, writing, and mathematics — in a single, convenient test to gauge general education outcomes. The ETS Proficiency Profile helps to:

  • Meet requirements for accreditation and accountability initiatives and performance funding by measuring the effectiveness of our general education program
  • Evaluate and inform teaching and learning, and pinpoint strengths and areas of improvement
  • Benchmark performance by providing comparative data on more than 500 institutions and over 550,000 students nationwide
  • Conduct trend analyses to evaluate program improvement efforts and overall learning outcomes

ATI™ TEAS (Test of Essential Academic Skills) Test

Is used as part of the admissions process by Nursing and Allied Health schools nationwide.  It is proven to be a statistically significant predictor of early nursing program success.  The four areas of the test include:

  • Reading
  • Mathematics
  • Science, and
  • English and language usage


Measures the skills adults need to succeed on the job and in life.  Subject areas include:

  • Basic Skills: Reading, Math, Language, Language Mechanics, Vocabulary, Spelling
  • Advanced Level Tests: Science, Social Studies, Algebra/Geometry, Writing

ETS® Major Field Tests

Are comprehensive undergraduate outcomes assessments designed to measure the critical knowledge and understanding obtained by students in a major field of study. The Major Field Tests go beyond the measurement of factual knowledge by helping you evaluate students' ability to analyze and solve problems, understand relationships and interpret material from their major field of study. 


The National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN® exam) has one purpose: To determine if it's safe for graduates to begin practice as an entry-level nurse. The NCLEX-RN tests application and analysis using the nursing knowledge students learned in school. Students are tested on how they can use critical thinking skills to make nursing judgments.  The exam is organized according to the framework, "Meeting Client Needs." There are four major categories and eight subcategories. Many nursing programs are based on the medical model where students take separate medical, surgical, pediatric, psychiatric, and obstetric classes. However, on the NCLEX-RN exam, all of the content is integrated.


Graduate programs use GRE® scores as a proven measure of an applicant’s readiness for graduate-level work — and of their potential for success. Schools use the GRE® revised General Test to help make the best admissions decisions. The GRE revised General Test features question types that closely reflect the kind of thinking students will do in graduate or business school.

  • Verbal Reasoning — Measures your ability to analyze and evaluate written material and synthesize information obtained from it, analyze relationships among component parts of sentences and recognize relationships among words and concepts.
  • Quantitative Reasoning — Measures problem-solving ability, focusing on basic concepts of arithmetic, algebra, geometry and data analysis.
  • Analytical Writing — Measures critical thinking and analytical writing skills, specifically your ability to articulate and support complex ideas clearly and effectively.


Is designed to measure skills that are considered essential for success in law school: the reading and comprehension of complex texts with accuracy and insight; the organization and management of information and the ability to draw reasonable inferences from it; the ability to think critically; and the analysis and evaluation of the reasoning and arguments of others.  There are three multiple-choice question types in the LSAT:

  • Reading comprehension questions measure the ability to read, with understanding and insight, examples of lengthy and complex materials similar to those commonly encountered in law school.
  • Analytical reasoning questions measure the ability to understand a structure of relationships and to draw logical conclusions about that structure.
  • Logical reasoning questions assess the ability to analyze, critically evaluate, and complete arguments as they occur in ordinary language.

MPRE (Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination)

The Law School Admission Council (LSAC) uses the  MPRE to measure the examinee’s knowledge and understanding of established standards related to a lawyer’s professional conduct; the MPRE is not a test to determine an individual’s personal ethical values. The MPRE is based on the law governing the conduct of lawyers, including the disciplinary rules of professional conduct currently articulated in the American Bar Association (ABA) Model Rules of Professional Conduct, the ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct, and controlling constitutional decisions and generally accepted principles established in leading federal and state cases and in procedural and evidentiary rules.